New Music Scotland announce the Scottish Awards for New Music 2021

14 Apr 2021


New Music Scotland are pleased to announce that nominations for the fifth annual Scottish Awards for New Music are now open. The Scottish Awards for New Music celebrate Scotland’s creatively ambitious and vibrant contemporary music scene, showcasing some of the most innovative, experimental and ground-breaking work taking place in Scotland. The awards highlight the depth and breadth of our country’s composers, musicians, sound artists, programmers, producers and ensembles.

Nominations can be submitted by anyone until Friday 12th May 2021 on the New Music Scotland website where full guidelines and submission criteria can be found.

This year the awards are:

  • Electroacoustic/Sound Artwork
  • The Dorico Award for Small / Medium Scale New (1-10 performers) Sponsored by Steinberg
  • Large Scale New Work (11+ performers) sponsored by PRS for Music
  • Award for the Recording of New Music
  • The RCS Award for Community/Education
  • The SMIA Award for Creative Programming
  • New Music Performer(s) of the Year
  • The RCS Award for Making it Happen
  • The Good Spirits Co Award for Innovation in New Traditional Music
  • New Music for Media
  • Environmental Sustainability
  • The ISM Award for New Music in Covid Times
  • Mark McKergow Award for Innovation in Jazz

The 2021 confirmed panellists are:

Kate Ellis, Saeunn Thorsteinsdóttir, Lindsay Pell, James Clapperton, Alisson Kruusmaa, Vimbayi Kaziboni, Lenny Sayers, Susanne Stanzeleit and Laura Judd.

Nominate now


Invalid Email

Scottish Music Industry Association

16 Argyle Court, 1103 Argyle Street,


G3 8ND 

+44 (0) 141 478 0228



The Scottish Music Industry Association receives Regular Funding from Creative Scotland, the public body that supports the arts, screen and creative industries across all parts of Scotland on behalf of everyone who lives, works or visits here.

Creative Scotland distribute funding from the Scottish Government and The National Lottery.