Information for Scotland’s culture sector: Cabinet and Ministerial appointments in the Scottish Government

08 Jun 2021


Here, you’ll find information around the new Cabinet & Ministerial appointments within the Scottish Government with particular reference to those who will be involved in decision making in the creative industries.

You can read more information on the Cabinet & Ministers on the ScotGov website.

Cabinet Secretaries

  • Nicola Sturgeon – First Minister

  • John Swinney MSP – Deputy First Minister and Cabinet Secretary for Covid Recovery

  • Kate Forbes MSP – Cabinet Secretary for Finance and the Economy

  • Shirley-Anne Somerville MSP – Cabinet Secretary for Education and Skills

  • Humza Yousaf MSP – Cabinet Secretary for Health and Social Care

  • Mairi Gougeon MSP – Cabinet Secretary for Rural Affairs and Islands

  • Shona Robison MSP – Cabinet Secretary for Social Justice, Housing and Local Government

  • Angus Robertson MSP – Cabinet Secretary for the Constitution, External Affairs and Culture

  • Micahel Matheson MSP – Cabinet Secretary for Net Zero, Energy and Transport

  • Keith Brown MSP – Cabinet Secretary for Justice and Veterans


Angela Constance – Minister for Drugs Policy

George Adam – Minister for Parliamentary Business

Richard Lochhead – Minister for Just Transition, Employment and Fair Work

Ivan McKee MSP – Minister for Business, Trade, Tourism and Enterprise

Tom Arthur MSP – Minister for Public Finance, Planning and Community Wealth

Maree Todd MSP – Minister for Public Health, Women’s Health and Sport

Kevin Stewart MSP – Minister for Mental Wellbeing and Social Care

Clare Haughey MSP – Minister for Children and Young People

Jamie Hepburn MSP – Minister for Higher Education and Further Education, Youth Employment and Training

Mairi McAllan MSP – Minister for Environment, Biodiversity and Land Reform

Graeme Dey MSP – Minister for Transport

Ash Denham MSP – Minister for Community Safety

Christina McKelvie MSP – Minister for Equalities and Older People

Ben Macpherson MSP – Minister for Social Security and Local Government

Jenny Gilruth MSP – Minister for Culture, Europe and International Development

James Wolffe QC – Lord Advocate

Alison Di Rollo – Solicitor General


Invalid Email

Scottish Music Industry Association

16 Argyle Court, 1103 Argyle Street,


G3 8ND 

+44 (0) 141 478 0228



The Scottish Music Industry Association receives Regular Funding from Creative Scotland, the public body that supports the arts, screen and creative industries across all parts of Scotland on behalf of everyone who lives, works or visits here.

Creative Scotland distribute funding from the Scottish Government and The National Lottery.