Watch back: Winners of Scottish Awards for New Music 2021 announced

14 Jul 2021

SMIA-news-mmd (3)


The SMIA Award for Creative Programming

– Winner: 2020 programme: Scottish Ensemble

– Sonic Bites: Cryptic
– Breathe and Draw: Nevis Ensemble/Alex Ho
– Sound Festival 2020: Sound Scotland

Award for Large Scale New Work (11+ performers), sponsored by PRS for Music
– Winner: Above the Stars: Aileen Sweeney
– Pharmakeia: James Dillon
– This Departing Landscape: Martin Suckling
– Night Thoughts: Matthew Whiteside
– Vigil I: Ninfea Cruttwell-Reade


Good Spirits Co Award for Innovation in New Traditional Music
– Winner: The Declaration: GRIT Orchestra  

–  My Light Shines On: Aidan O’Rourke with Brìghde Chaimbeul, Bashir Saade, Rachel Sermani and Graeme Stephen/Edinburgh International Festival
– Down the Line: Alastair Savage and Charli Ashton


Mark McKergow Award for Innovation in Jazz
– Winner: Corto Alto: Liam Shortall
– Deepening the River: Paul Towndrow
– Playtime


The Musicians’ Union Award for Installation/Sound Art/Electroacoustic New Work

–  Winner: these bones, this flesh, this skin: Martin Suckling with Joan Clevillé and Genevieve Reeves

– Be Mine in Patience: an embrace in B Minor – Michael Begg
– Cheap Emotions: Darlene Zarabozo
–  Stolen Voices: Rebecca Collins and Johanna Linsley


The ISM Award for New Music in Covid Times
– Winner: Lochan Sketches: Nevis Ensemble

– Distant Duets: Drake Music Scotland/Tinderbox Collective
– Be Mine in Patience: an embrace in B minor – Michael Begg
– Covid-19 Sound Map: Pete Stollery


The Locavore Award for Environmental Sustainability

– Winner: Scottish Classical Sustainability Group: Nevis Ensemble/Scottish Ensemble/various

– Let Them Not Say: Chris Hutchings/Choirs for Climate
– Lochan Sketches: Nevis Ensemble


Award for the Recording of New Music sponsored by VoxCarynx

–  Winners: The Night With… Live Vol. One & Letters: David Fennessy

– Erocean: LivMassive and Hessian Renegade
– From Ocean’s Floor: Linda Buckley


The Dorico Award for Small/Medium Scale Work, sponsored by Steinberg

– Winner: Plastica: Edwin Hillier

– Reflecting Instruments: David Horne
– High Energy Music: Nora Marazaite
– Archipelago: transmissions between islands – Lisa Robertson


The Dorico Award for Solo Work, sponsored by Steinberg
– Winner: Skydance: Ailie Robertson
– Her Lullaby: Martin Suckling
– Curious-er: Sonia Allori
– Omanjana: Simon Thacker


The RCS Award for Education/Community Project
– Winner: StAMP: University of St Andrews in partnership with The Wallace Collection
– Intersections: Exploration 2020
– Sonic Bothy


The EVM Award for New Music in Media

– Winner: Sayo: Luci Holland

– The Trial of Alex Salmond: Francis Macdonald
– Henry Glassie Field Work: Linda Buckley


The RCS Award for Making It Happen
– Winner: Aileen Sweeney and Ben Eames: Ear to the Ground
– Ollie Hawker: The Owen Wilson Elegies
– Rufus Isabel Eliot: OVER / AT



The 2021 panellists

See category pages for panelists details for each category


Kate Ellis: Cellist & Artistic Director, Crash Ensemble

Saeunn Thorsteinsdóttir: Cellist & Co-Artistic Director, Decoda

Lindsay Pell: BBC Radio 3/Radio Scotland

James Clapperton: Composer, pianist and festival director

Alisson Kruusmaa: Composer

Vimbayi Kaziboni: conductor (regular guest with Ensemble Modern, Ensemble InterContemporain)

Lenny Sayers: clarinetist (BBC NoW), composer and animateur

Susanne Stanzeleit: violinist (Primrose Quartet) and producer, Meridian Records

Laura Jurd: jazz trumpet and composer

Eve O’Donnell: Artistic Producer Composer Initiatives, National Sawdust

David Pickard: Director, BBC Proms

Alan Morrison: Head of Music, Creative Scotland

Jenna Reid: traditional fiddle player and composer

Fergus McWilliam: Horn player (Berlin Philharmonic) and Board Member, Sistema Scotland

Matthew Studdart-Kennedy: Head of Artistic Planning, Luxembourg Philharmonie

Eva Bocker: Cellist, Ensemble Modern

Miranda Heggie: Project Manager, BCMG NEXT

Ceiri Torjussen: Film composer

Fergus Linehan: Director, Edinburgh International Festival

Dr Aly McCluskie: Senior Conservation Scientist, RSPB

Jane Nicolson: Classical PR Specialist, Classroom Teacher (music specialism)

John Kenny: trombonist


The Awards are created by New Music Scotland with support from the National Lottery through Creative Scotland’s Open Project Fund. Award sponsors include Dorico Steinberg, PRS for Music, The Good Spirits Co, Mark McKergow, the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland, the Incorporated Society of Musicians, the Scottish Music Industry Association, and the Musicians’ Union.



Invalid Email

Scottish Music Industry Association

16 Argyle Court, 1103 Argyle Street,


G3 8ND 

+44 (0) 141 478 0228



The Scottish Music Industry Association receives Regular Funding from Creative Scotland, the public body that supports the arts, screen and creative industries across all parts of Scotland on behalf of everyone who lives, works or visits here.

Creative Scotland distribute funding from the Scottish Government and The National Lottery.