Shortlist Announced Scottish Awards For New Music 2020

The Scottish Awards for New Music are delighted to announce the 2020 shortlist of nominees selected by a panel of key figures in the music world from over 300 nominations submitted across twelve categories.

The SMIA are pleased to support this year’s awards in the form of The SMIA Award for Creative Programming.

The winners will be announced at an event at V&A Dundee on Tuesday 14 April 2020.

The shortlisted nominees are as follows:

Large Scale New Work (11+ performers) sponsored by PRS for Music

David Fenessy : Conquest of the Useless

Stuart MacRae: Anthropocene

Thea Musgrave : Trumpet Concerto

The RCS Award for Contribution to New Music in Scotland

Cathie Boyd

Chamber Music Scotland

Drake Music Scotland

The RCS Award for Making it Happen

The Night With… : Matthew Whiteside

Nordic Viola : Katherine Wren

Benn Lunn : Diversions

The ISM prize for Collaboration

Physical Education : Robert Reid Allan

Diversions : Ben Lunn

Rough Breathing : Nichola Scrutton

Scottish New Music Performer(s) of the Year

Sarah Watts

Richard Craig

Scottish Ensemble

Environment Sustainability

Below the Blanket : Cryptic

Chamber Music Scotland

Nevis Ensemble

The Dorico Award for Small / Medium Scale New Work (1 – 10 performers) sponsored by Steinberg

Two Panels for String Quartet : Alistair White

The Wet Desert – A Collection of Highland Perspectives : Lisa Robertson

The Tuning : Martin Suckling

Electroacoustic / Sound Artwork

Dhātu : Edwin Hillier

Listening Cave : Calum Scott

…shadows that in darkness dwell… : Timothy Cooper

Community/Education project

Tinderbox Collective

SCO Soundmoves

Sound Symphony : Ellie Griffiths with Sonia Allori, Shioi Usui and Greg Sinclair, Katy Wilson (designer) and Colin Grenfell (lighting)

The Good Spirits Co Award for Innovation in New Traditional Music

365 : Aidan O’Rourke and Kit Downes

The Reeling : Brighde Chaimbeul

Face to Face : Twelfth Day

Recorded New Work

Airs from Another Planet : Chamber Music and Songs by Judith Weir. Hebrides Ensemble/Delphian Records

Sensations of Travel : Chamber Music by Nigel Osborne. Hebrides Ensemble/Delphian Records

Panopticon : David Fennessy / Psappha / Hebrides Ensemble / NMC

The SMIA Award for Creative Programming

The Night With… : Matthew Whiteside

Diversions : Benn Lunn / Drake Music Scotland’s Digital Orchestra and Hebrides Ensemble

Sound Festival : Fiona Robertson

The panel were Jon Hargreaves, conductor ; Michael Duffy, British Council ; Morag Campbell, former CEO NYCOS ; Joanna Nicholson, musician; Nicola Le Fanu, composer; Mark Dooley, Peters Edition (publisher)

William Sweeney, composer


7.00pm, Tuesday 14 April 2020

V&A Dundee 1 Riverside Esplanade, Dundee, DD1 4EZ

Facebook / Twitter / Instagram

If you like this, then please share!